Quickie: Led Zeppelin rocks your soul

So lately I’ve been listening to a lot of Led Zeppelin and I thought that it warranted its own post. So here it is.

Straight off the bat I want to make it clear that I am in no way an expert on rock music or the legends 0f Led Zeppelin. But like many blessed with a sense of hearing, I love good music.

I struggled for days to find a single Led Zeppelin song that could express the soul and funk embodied in their music (and since there is a court case surrounding the originality of Stairway to Heaven) so I thought I’d just choose one of my favorites and deal with the consequences. So here it goes.

Since I’ve Been Loving You

It was around this time of year in 2014 that I came across a cover of this song by Corinne Bailey Rae, and after discussing it with a friend, I came to the conclusion that despite being a really nice cover it didn’t really capture the essence of the original.

Whilst my friend chalked this up to Corinne Bailey Rae’s voice, I propose it has something to do with the smooth feeling of the cover, and the rashness of the original. All of that out of the way, this is an awesome song!

As with all Zeppelin songs, Jimmy Page wales on the electric guitar like only he knew how to. I mean, there is one part in his solo where he just ruptures the line between guitar player and god, and rides the waves of his riffs all the way to the musical abyss at the end of the universe. And he plays well too.

But what makes this song really special is Robert Plant’s vocals. The screeching, the agony, the contempt, the howling. Honestly its difficult to nail down one exact way to feel about this song because of these vocals. Which makes it harder to imitate them on karaoke night. And the hair. The hair too. (for those looking for something similar, try Baby I’m Going To Leave You)

tumblr_static_robert_plant02
The hair though…

Leave a Reply

